Autos

Problems or things to know about flying the Hiller.

Autos

Postby Guest » Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:55 am

Hey people good to hear from fellow Hiller users, lovers haters, and everybody else. I'd like to know how to do a full down auto, I've never tried one or had one demonstrated in my Hiller 12D. Seems to me that it would be quite tricky as my ship really comes out of the air fast. My instructor has said there's no use in going full down if you can recover at 3 ft, I think he's right as the risk isn't worth it. Still I'd like to do some I know everybody else is doing them, to me it seems like I'm missing something.
Do the Hillers you fly auto well? Mine has -3 m/r blades I don't know if that makes any difference, also I'm a 400hr rotor pilot with 60 hrs in Hillers. Maybe I shouldn't worry about it what do you think?

Ricky

hiller autos

Postby tcamiga » Fri Mar 24, 2006 7:31 am

Hi Ricky

Don't do any autos to the ground until you have found a competent instructor.

The Hiller is fine for this type of op and when I used to train pilots on them I often did 20 or 30 engine off autos a day with the students.

I consider an engine off auto safer than a power recovery.

I'm in a rush as am heading off to watch a world cup Triathlon for the weekend.

Will reply on return.

In the mean time - if you trained on an R22 it's a possibility you have attended a safety course or your instructor walked you thru the use and storage of energy in the machine. Nothing changes for the Hiller - the same principles apply.

If you don't have this knowledge - do some research on the net.

See U next week

safe flying

Tc
tcamiga

Postby Hillerbee » Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:15 pm

Full down autos in a Hiller are quite easy, but uncomparable with R-22 or Schweizer.